

West Hills Neighborhood Council

"It's our neighborhood. Let's build a community."

<u>OFFICERS</u>

Charlene Rothstein President Faye Barta, J.D. Vice President Brad Vanderhoof Secretary Carolyn Greenwood Treasurer Saif Mogri Controller

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Aida Abkarians Faye Barta Brenda Citrom Carolyn Greenwood Jessica Irias Glenn Jennings Kim Koerber Vinura Kotuwelle Jonathan Marvisi Saif Mogri Penelope Newmark Chris Pike Bill Rose Charlene Rothstein Ellen Silvers Cole Smith Joan Trent Stacy Unholz Brad Vanderhoof Joanne Yvanek-Garb Zhelbert Zohrabian

PAST PRESIDENTS

Daniel Brin Stephen Lenske Ed Youngblood Charles "Chuck" Gremer

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Michelle Ritchie May 16, 2025

Re: <u>West Hills Neighborhood Council Zoning & Planning Committee</u> Opposition to Senate Bill 79

Dear Senators,

The West Hills Neighborhood Council (WHNC) Zoning and Planning Committee has thoroughly investigated SB 79 for the past several months and respectfully request that you <u>OPPOSE</u> this bill.

Since the inception of SB 9, SB 10, Density Bonus, Housing Element, ADU's, JDU's, major changes in Height Limit requirements, lack of Parking Requirements, streamlining approvals with no CEQA and little to no transparency and other bills that are too numerous to list here, there have been devastating effects on our cities and towns.

This is not to say that some of the changes in our laws will not or do not work well for any given community. What is imperative is that the authority for planning decisions, as to what works best for a particular community, be left in the hands of that community, its city planning and decision makers.

Please help constituents move forward with visions for their own cities and towns with your opposition to SB 79.

Respectfully Submitted,

Bill Rose

Bill Rose, Co-Chair Zoning & Planning Committee

Charlene Rothstein

Charlene Rothstein, Co-Chair Zoning & Planning Committee



P.O. Box 4670, West Hills, CA 91308-4670•mail@westhillsnc.org • www.westhillsnc.org

